Transitoire

By Transitoire

Esprit Français

When things are bad, we take comfort in the thought that they could always get worse. And when they are, we find hope in the thought that things are so bad they have to get better.

Wow, I sound like I'm depressed today...I'm really not, but I really like this quote - it makes sense and shows perfectly the idea of the "stiff upper lip" that us English always try and have. Thibaud and I were discussing this this morning before we got up...the fact that no matter how bad the situation is, most English people will always try and make the best of the situation...national spirit and all! However the French, according to a Frenchman so no one can shout at me, the majority will always find something to grumble about. Obviously a massive generalisation, but the national spirit does seem to have a decidedly pessimistic view of things.

Words learnt today:-
- Être torché - to be hammered (torché also means flared or wiped)

After spending the majority of the day at the flat, I then went home to do some bits and pieces to find myself back at the flat only a few hours later for a drink with Baptiste! I swear I have started to live there now instead of visiting...need to cut down. Before I did go home I had a little wander up to Le Palais du Justice du Caen, the new version not the old one by Place Saint Sauveur! Its nicknames range from 'Star Trek Enterprise' to 'la boîte noire'...no one can seem to agree on one single one. It is just opposite the plaque to commemorate where the first Canadian soldier fell in battle in the fight for Caen, the memorial for us Brits is up by the castle, and I think it will be open from 2015 from what I have read...looks pretty finished though from the outside! Anyways, I spent the evening with everyone watching La plus belle voix (The Voice) and drinking wine before Flavie, Baptiste and I headed to Le Vertigo to meet up with Nicolas and a few others.

After missing the last bus home (whoops!), I went with Baptiste to chez lui to get started on some translation work...and yes, obviously the best time to do this is not 1am and slightly tipsy (me, not him!) but we persevered for an hour or so before he dropped me off back at home. Will probably finish the text, or start it again, at some point during the week. Some of the vocabulary is stuff I have never even heard of...dysphorie (= cyclothymia) anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.