Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

In support of Ukraine

I saw this field of sunflowers on the news the other day and decided I would do the six hour round trip and visit.  Well the car needed to blow some cobwebs away and I enjoyed the drive. 

A farmer in Quirindi, on a whim more or less, decided to risk a crop of sunflowers late in the season.  It is an enormous field he has planted I might add, next to it is a crop of cotton.  Anyhoo, it has become a tourist attraction.  At the road end of the field he has set up a viewing platform which flies the Ukraine and Australian flags (first extra).  You are invited to walk around, have photos taken and pick some sunflowers and are expected to leave a donation.  Part of the proceeds go to aid for Ukraine.  Isn't that wonderful!

A few others in the extras.  I was glad I took buzz.

I picked 5 flowers, 2 the size of dinner plates, which are sitting pretty in a vase behind me.   They bring a smile to my face. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.