Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Saying goodbye II

I had a real fight with myself last night.  Today I went early to say goodbye to the sparrowhawks.  The male must have been off hunting somewhere.  I didn't see him (or other photographers).  The female was standing in this beautifully statuesque pose waiting to be brought her breakfast so I took a single shot.  In Extras is an image taken a week or so ago of them both together.  I'd decided the quality wasn't good enough to post and wanted to get a better version.  Now that seems greedy.

Yesterday appalled me.  Being in the company of any of the three local birders I've got to know is always fine.  The larger numbers of thrill-seekers is not.  I didn't know until the locals told me at the beginning of this season but last year in the later stages which I'd absented myself from, it got so bad some silly woman even tried to climb the low tree the hawks were nesting in, saying she had the Wildlife Trust's permission - obvious nonsense!  The adults deserted their nest.

So even though it might be possible to find some time when no-one's around, I'm not blipping them again.  I've had my fun, there's no need to be greedy.  Instead I shall walk through the non-sparrowhawk parts of the reserve on my way up the hill to haunt the butterflies - including perhaps the Duke of Burgundy and other wonders - and have a few trips to see the birdlife on Lymington Marshes.

Happy Tuesday evening/Wednesday morning  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.