This is Happiness-Stromness Day 4

After I have been away from Orkney for many months I begin to think that it can’t be as wonderful as I imagine, but then I return and find it’s even more lovely than I remember.

Of course the weather helps and today is as good as it gets. The sea behind me ,as I sit in the garden with my back to the stone sea wall, my face in the sun and the softest of breezes playing with my hair, is unbelievably blue - the same blue as the sky above. There is a line of fluffy white clouds on the horizon above Orphir but they are stationary and non threatening. There is silence- no traffic noise, no people noise and not even bird song, just a very faint background hum which I imagine comes from the Hamnavoe berthed in the harbour. Even the waves on the shore make no noise.

There is no certainty that tomorrow will be like today but even if it’s blowing a hoolie and the mist is down, I will treasure today for being perfect in every way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.