Graemsay Lighthouse - Stromness Day 3

It didn’t look a very energising morning when I got myself into gear first thing. The view over Hamnavoe was grey and misty and there was a heavy period of rain before lunch, but as often happens in these airts, we had a beautiful afternoon. The sun came out, the sky was blue and the sea coruscated in the sunshine.

I went out for a walk mainly to inspect again the slipway used by bathers and whilst there was joined by a couple of tourists. We passed the time of day and before we knew it we were in step for a circular walk round the Ness to the graveyard and back into town.
I have done this walk many times and it is usually very quiet but today we met so many people coming the other way and then a constant stream of cars once we hit the tarmac.

My fellow travellers hailed from Cumbria and had spent a fortnight in Shetland before arriving in Orkney yesterday. They said Shetland was so quiet that Orkney seemed to be a hive of activity contrary to my observation.

It was hot enough when I got back to the flat that I sat with an ice cream to watch the ferry to Scrabster backing out from its berth to execute a perfect pirouette right outside the window -4:30 on the dot . It will be back in less than 4 hours and I will be waiting to clock it in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.