Beewriter

By Beewriter

A Canal Side Funeral

I went to Larkhill Place with prep 1 this morning. We went down the Victorian cobbled street and helped with a washday. The children really enjoyed it and I took lots of pics. I was going to put them on the website this afternoon but we had a power cut.

Everything went off for about half an hour, it felt like the new tv drama, Revolution, was actually taking place. I armed myself with a long cardboard tube and went down to Sandra and Karen telling them the electricity was off across the world and I was starting the Worsley militia. They haven't watched it so they looked at me as if I was barking mad. I tried Catherine, but she's not seen it either. I threw my weapon in the recycling bin and gave up. The power returned and my moment to lead the rebels disappeared.

I went down to the canal at lunchtime to a wonderful send off for Roger. Steph and Roger had barges and a boat repair yard so it was perfect to have the wake at the canal side. We sat on the steps in front of the Packet House and the sun shone down, it was lovely. It was one of the best ways to celebrate a life that I've seen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.