April Snowstorm!

Our little April snowstorm broke records in some places. I heard they got 14 inches in parts of New York, not far from the Pennsylvania border. We ourselves received at least 5 inches, maybe 6, but it was all melty, and so it sunk down and refused to be adequately measured. April snows can be uncooperative like that.

Knowing that warming temps were coming and the white stuff would not last, I grabbed my camera and walked up the hill to the Scotia Barrens while it was still snowing. The place was gorgeous, and the snow hung heavy on the trees and bushes. It started dropping out of the trees and into the water and rocked the surface with waves and patterns galore.

There are some amazing pink trees along the road I walk to the gameland, and I've been coveting photos of them for several days. But I am reluctant to point my camera into people's yards for that. Some people are suspicious of photographers' intent.

On this day, though, I had my pink umbrella, the snow was still falling off the trees and dropping everywhere, nobody was around, and I took as many pictures as I wanted. Hello, my beautiful winter-into-spring world, bedecked with an ocean of blooms. This is the time of year when seasons collide.

You know how obsessed I can get with stacking the colors for my tulip shots at the Arboretum. Well, it was like that, but my color sources were a pink tree, golden forsythia, a weeping willow (I think), and an evergreen or two. I've even got a tiny bit of fence, for local flavor!

Here is a song for an April snowstorm: Vampire Weekend, with Spring Snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.