Carolina Wren Takes Shelter from the Storm

"Come in," she said; "I'll give you shelter from the storm."

April is the cruelest month, as one of the poets said. I may not be an expert in memory and desire, dull roots, or spring rain. But I have learned a thing or two about snow.

And the thing about snow is that snow arrives whenever it darn well feels like it. In these parts, that can be anytime from October through May. In central PA, we received several inches of wet snow - as much as five inches where we live - on this day. Some might call it an onion snow.

In the middle of the afternoon, my husband was standing on the stairs looking out the front window, and he beckoned for me. Two tiny Carolina wrens sat on our front porch. As I approached, one of them flew away, but here is the remaining one, with snowflakes on it, taking shelter from the storm.

The soundtrack song is this one: Bob Dylan, with Shelter from the Storm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.