A Bouquet of Daffodils

More winter weather is coming our way, and I've been bringing in the daffodils from the yard by the armloads. We are having an especially good year for daffodils, it seems, and we've got them in every shade of yellow. The white ones - poet's daffodil - and the pink ones - pink charm, pink sunrise and sunset - are in progress, but not blooming yet.

This is a picture of the bouquet of daffodils I made on this day. In the early morning, I went out and cut them, and arranged them. In the afternoon, the light comes through the back of the house at such a beautiful angle and lights them up, in tones of bright sunny yellows and golds.

I've arranged my bouquet in a blue plastic container, as I like how yellow and blue look together. Yes, that tray beneath it looks like a half-slice of watermelon. Beneath it is a magical book full of wonderful stories. (The tray and the book are to balance the vase and keep it from tipping over.)

All of this sits on a captain's chair in front of the deck doors, where our cat Dexter used to sit, and stand, and sleep in a box. This window used to be for our Tabbycat. It's been so empty since he left us. Now it is full of golden daffodils.

For my soundtrack song, I wanted something about flowers, and here is a song I adore, by two wonderful people, Barbra Streisand and Neil Diamond. When the song was first released, it was made by mixing recordings of the two principal singers, overlapping their voices. This was the first time they ever sang it together live, and it is A-MA-ZING!!!! Oh yeah, they brought the house down that night. Please enjoy Barbra and Neil, at the 1980 Grammys, performing You Don't Bring Me Flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.