Of Pirates and Poets

It is hard to describe the beauty of central Pennsylvania at this time of year. Many of the trees are wearing their spring dresses, and flowers are coming up. I look around the yard, and I see bursts of color everywhere.

The early daffodils frizzled a bit in all that heat we had late last week, and so we're done with some of the yellow blooms. But now we have a symphony of pinks and whites, as the pink daffs and the poet's daffs (Narcissus poeticus) come into their heyday.

I love the name poet's daffodil. It reminds me of all of the poems I've ever memorized, all the poems I've ever loved. Everything from Two roads diverged in a yellow wood, to Complacencies of the penoir, and late coffee and oranges in a sunny chair, to Ample make this bed, make this bed with awe. And a whole bunch of other stuff in between.

I have never loved a pirate, though I have loved plenty of would-be poets, including a few who have written poems about me. :-) Truth be told, we don't get many pirates here in land-locked central Pennsylvania. But I wanted the title of this Blip to match the title of this song. So here's Bertie Higgins, with Pirates and Poets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.