John

I made up my own lyrics to an old song this morning as I was walking down Xwaaqw'um this morning:
I love to go a-wandering
Along a forest trail
And as I walk, I hope to heck
It doesn't start to hail
It sure felt cold enough!  One of the coldest, if not the coldest, Aprils on record here.
I saw this guy on the dock fiddling with the cap of a gas container. He saw me and said hello, and we talked for several minutes. He told me the history of his boat, Coya (first extra). I had taken a photo of it because I thought its name was Coy, an unusual one for a boat, but the A was hidden because the door was open. He offered to take his dinghy back to the boat and close the door for me!  Very kind, but I like Coy.  :-)
Interestingly it turned out that he grew up just down the street from where we lived near Victoria for a few years and was very familiar with all the places I walked there. I told him about blip and asked if I could take his photo. Glad he agreed! I really enjoy unexpected interactions like this and engaging with strangers, always interested in their stories. 
The second extra is of cardboard left on the path down to the beach. It looked like it had a double cheeky smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.