A Day of Firsts

The blåsippor (Anenome hepactica - liverwort), appearing where the snow has melted away, has been around a few days but today's extra is the first photo of it in full bloom.
It's the first day with breakfast outside in the sun, on the deck.
While eating breakfast there was a strange, but familiar, shriek from the sky. I looked up and a crane was gliding by, directly overhead. The first crane of the spring. 200 metres behind came a small flock of a half-dozen cranes, and behind them a couple more. I think they were coming down to land nearby.
We spent a large part of the day getting the camper van ready for action. We started this job yesterday so it wasn't a first but late in the afternoon we made a cup of tea using the gas stove in the van, and sat outside in the warm sun. The first camper van cuppa!
I popped down to the shops on my e-bike - the first cycle trip of 2022.
When I got back from my trip Jan had finished decorating the van, and the result looked really good, brightening up the interior.
It seemed something to celebrate so we finished the outside day with a G&T, sitting out in the evening sun, another first for 2022 (having the drink outside, not the first G&T).
Indoors again I cooked a side of salmon I'd found at the shops. I bought it because it was half-price. I learned to browse for such things in my younger days, when money was in short supply. We don't need to do that these days, but old habits die hard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.