Winter to Summer Tyres

Sometime in the spring the weather is sunny and warm, the snow is disappearing, the roads are clear of ice, and suddenly it is time to change from winter to summer tyres.
  Looking back on blipfoto I see the earliest I have changed my tyres is the 11 April, and the latest is the 27th! This year I am precisely mid-way between those dates. I did the wheels on both cars so now my body is speaking to me, explaining that switching 8 wheels in one day is a lot of lifting, not to mention undoing, and re tightening, 36 wheel nuts. I'm glad I chose a yoga program this morning with lots of stretching!
Doing this job in the spring is much nicer than doing it in autumn. You can choose a warm sunny day (like today) and pause for cups of tea sitting in the sun. In the autumn you are often doing it because snow is forecast and you have to get it done before it falls, even if it is raining!!  Some autumns you get lucky, but not all of them.  I think it says something that in spring I have a cup of tea when I'm done, in the autumn I often have a jägermeister when I'm finished!
All day today cranes were flying overhead in  V formations. Their cries are very loud and they use their voices a lot as they fly so you know when to look up and where to look. The biggest flock that came over had about 50 birds flying in two V's. Also heard seagulls, woodpeckers and I think even a cuckoo, as well as assorted small song birds.  Spring really is lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.