earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Trying to Conjure a Spring

Other than one bit of fun, I've not found the wherewithal to post here this last week. I've been struggling to get back into a writing groove, trying to concentrate, trying to avoid the distractions that tend to get in the way. It would be easy to say I've got writer's block, but that doesn't feel like the right word.

A few weeks ago it was all flowing and the words were coming faster than I could write them down. It seemed easy and I found it hard to recall those far more frequent times when it wasn't. Now, the opposite is true and it's how to understand how this business could ever have felt easy. 

I think I've realised something. It's almost magical when words come in a creative context, when a story takes shape, when characters talk and make things happen. It's exceptional to be in that state of mind. It's like coming across a natural spring. There's nothing to unblock at the moment. It's far more like I've got to create the right conditions of mind for the flow of words to appear at the surface. The difference is a subtle one. A little dribble bubbled up today. I'm getting there.

Meanwhile, Offcumdens has picked up a nomination for a Saboteur Award, for best collaborative work. I'm debating whether it's appropriate to ask your help in garnering some votes. These are the recognised awards for small and independent presses. I have to give this some thought.

It took me a long while to leave the flat for a run today. The weather was beautiful but the easterly wind was chilly. It was one of those days when it was impossible to get the layers right. I got too warm when sheltered from the wind and too cold when not. It's been a week of grinding out the miles. By the end, the legs were feeling as heavy as the head. I'm trusting that all the hard work will soon start to pay off. I'll be well pissed off if it doesn't!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.