Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Magnolia

The little pink magnolia is flowering - one flower almost open, another couple developing.  It's still a very small tree, and it's always late to flower - which does at least mean that it generally misses the frosts.

In extras - a supine smooth newt.  It was quite still on the floor of the pond, I thought it was dead, and was about to fetch a net to lift it out, when suddenly there were upheavals, and we realised that it was in combat with another newt.  Their jaws were locked together.  We couldn't get a clear view of the combat, and I was unable to get a photo of the drama  I am unsure if the other newt was also a smooth newt.  It was larger, and I did wonder if it might be a great crested newt - we know that we have them around, though I've never seen any in the pond.  

They remained in this locked jaw combat for some time.  There were many other newts around, apparently supervising/umpiring/cheering the combatants on.  A brief survey of the internet didn't reveal any photos of newts in combat, but did bring up this photo of salamanders (which I believe are related to newts).  I am not sure what the outcome was.

I've been to collect a "Click and Collect" from Sainbury's, mainly consisting of packets of crumpets, but also a couple of Caterpillar cakes.  I had to go to Sainbury's because Tesco were out of their version of the caterpillar cakes.  We're packing tonight - an early start tomorrow to catch the ferry from Harwich before driving north to Sweden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.