Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Wow!!!

I spent several hours today weeding* the front yard.  I moved a piece of plastic that is currently being "stored" in one corner, and found this guy.  He was somewhat peeved, and initially tried to pretend that he was invisible.  I was completely unaware what he was, I just thought he was an interesting colour - otherwise I'd have tried for more photos, and seen if I could turn him over to look at his belly.  But after I had lifted him up onto the pavers so I could take a few pictures, he realised that he was NOT invisible, and rapidly crawled off to a hole in the wall and disappeared.

Subsequent consultation with Mr Google suggests that he is in fact a great crested newt!  How wonderful is that?

My back is protesting rather loudly this evening after all the bending involved in weeding*, but I'm chuffed with the results.

*They may be "uninvited garden guests" elsewhere in the garden, but in the front gravelled yard they are very definitely weeds, and are all removed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.