Flossmo

By Flossmo

Mixed fortunes

Today I attended a workshop at the Regional Print Centre with mixed success. I definitely learned a lot but I didn’t like the prints that I produced. I didn’t do anything wrong per se just didn’t get a pleasing result. It’s easy to have an expectation that a masterpiece is going to emerge from the use of a new technique but I expect even Rembrandt experimented before finding his way. The good thing is I definitely have some new techniques to take home and adapt to my needs. 

On the way back to the cottage I stopped to take a blip of the view across the valley. In the middle distance you can just see the Cefn Mawr Viaduct. It’s a near neighbour of the much more famous Pontcysyllte Aqueduct. Both structures span the River Dee. The former was built in 1848 to carry the Chester to Shrewsbury railway and the latter, which carries the Llangollen Canal, was built some fifty years earlier. Both structures are still in use today and can be crossed by train (viaduct) or canal boat/foot (aqueduct). I have, in the past, done both - the aqueduct by foot but not boat.

Tomorrow will be a long day - I have stuff to finish off in the studio before I start the drive home. It’s been a great week but I will be pleased to see Mr Flossmo and Sky once again.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.