Flossmo

By Flossmo

Studio North

Today was my first day since last summer in the Regional Print Centre studio or as I like to call it Studio North. The studio is housed within the art department at Coleg Cambria. The building used to be the Wrexham War Memorial Hospital (it ceased to function as a hospital in 1986) and I can remember visiting my father there when he had had a heart attack. It seems a world away. The studio is in one of the old fashioned long wards.  The old sluice rooms and storage areas are now used for special techniques such as etching and one houses a dark room. It’s an excellent facility superbly maintained by Nigel Morris, artist and technician. 

The dark room was where I spent some time this morning preparing plates for photoetching. They are now hardening for a couple of days before I make the exposures.

The extra is of a couple of screen prints seen in the drying rack. The artist is Rhi Moxon (https://www.rhimoxon.com/about) who is a very accomplished printmaker and comes to the studio to use the facilities for her colourful prints. I liked the yellow and blue of Rhi’s prints as an ongoing gesture of support for Ukraine. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.