Plus ça change...

By SooB

Peepo

Hot sunny day. But much of it spent helping a poorly Mr B fix our roof. He hurt his hand last week doing work on our house. We'd both hoped the rest in London might have fixed it, but it didn't (he was, granted, also fixing a roof there, but he says that was less taxing on his hand than ours, which I can believe). A part of fixing our roof was, surprisingly, to knock down a wall. It was built in such a way as to have no attachment at all to the roof, which given it is made from inch and a half thick terracotta tiles on their ends (though two thicknesses) was not terribly stable.

So, with much crashing, a little danger and a lot of me retiring to the far corner of the room (we only have one safety helmet), it was done. This not only gets rid of the wall that the electrician and plumber delighted in telling me a couple of years ago was sure to fall down that very weekend... but gave easier access to the roof. (Actually, given how hard the wall was to pull down, I think it was probably good for a while.)

There was some time for garden activity. But not as much as I would have liked on a warm sunny day.

CarbBoy was poorly this morning and missed school. I'm sure he was mainly just tired after too many late nights, but I felt more comfortable telling his teacher he was just poorly...

Late this afternoon I was allowed a brief lung-clearing (it's dusty up there) run around the garden. Whilst weeding I spotted this stand-off. The lizard (Stumpy) is disappointed - they don't eat firebugs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.