A day in the life

By Shelling

Waitz

Slow Friday. Long breakfast and plenty of time to rehearse and arrange music before lunch. I think my landlord had a tougher job than me, it seems the time has come to move the cattle to their summer grazing, he's been fetching three or four cows with his tractor and wagon, transporting them to somewhere they will have fresh grass to eat during a hopefully nice summer, for a cow. He's got a lot of cattle so it's going to take a few days to move them all. Then, it will be cowless here for the summer, I'll miss them.

The landlords son came in the afternoon to put some permanent stepladders on the roof for the chimney sweep to walk on when he arrives on Monday to inspect the installation of my new stove. There are strict regulations about safety for sweeps, a safe ladder being one of them. Once confirmed that the chimney and stove is properly installed and step ladders are in place, I'm allowed to use my stove.

In the evening I had booked a ticket for the band playing music by Tom Waitz, in Swedish. They are back with a completely new show, still based around the world of Tom Waits but this time with music by other composers too. The show and the music was brilliant, worth a tour of Sweden, but who can pay for seven musicians with a ton of instruments to do a tour. They've played two sold out concerts at the county theatre in Kalmar for two nights. I wish you could have been there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.