The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

From the towpath

...of the Cotswold canal near Stonehouse, 4 miles from Stroud, I spied some spring maintenance going on in this back garden. Three rowing boats seems like a lot, but perhaps they hire them out! The road over the bridge leads down to the A419. After my peaceful stroll along the canal from Stonehouse, I walked up to the main road because I could see a bus stop, which turned out to have a stone shelter with a brightly painted mural inside. It was hot in the street (yay!) and traffic was held up because of roadworks in Stonehouse high street, and a burst water main just outside the town. Getting to Stonehouse, earlier by bus, had taken me about twice as long as usual.

In a couple of years' time, or perhaps sooner, I will be able to cycle from the towpath at Bowbridge, near my house on the eastern edge of Stroud, all the way to Stonehouse. I hope the WEA will continue to run classes for adults there; they are about to move their venue to the community centre: also very handy for the canal.

PS Thanks to Leros12 for the sub. I can't comment on their journal yet, as it's not live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.