Marik_i

By Marik_i

Memory

Memory and the temporary loss of it.

I did read both the first and the second volumes of the Stockholm trilogy by author Niklas Natt och Dag a couple of years ago. Names of the books were 1793 and 1794. They describe the misery of the poor people in the narrow alleys only a stone's throw from the royal palace in the years following the assassination of King Gustaf III. The grim story is based on facts and the author is a master of language. The two first volumes were bestsellers, but we had to wait a while for the continuation and the end of the story, so that the volume 1795 only came out last year.

I did read the first volumes in Finnish translation, but as the Swedish language was acclaimed in all reviews, I chose the Swedish edition for the 1795. However, since the author's  Swedish is a little above mine, I had difficulty with some words and expressions, and I had to resign to the Finnish translation.

I signed in to the e-book store and waited for the program to take me to the cashier. Instead it took me to my own book shelf  where the book to my surprise already was!

Another surprise was when I opened my e-reader and the book was even there!

But the worst part of this memory story is that I had already read the first three chapters!!!

And I had no recollection. We had a good laugh. So be it. 


I highly recommend the book. Here are the titles to the English translations: 1793 The Wolf and the Watchman and 1794 The City Between the Bridges

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.