Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Monochrome

More sticker art in Bradford, this time a uniformly monochrome collection.

I was in town for a City game. The season is almost over and there’s nothing to play for apart from pride. Today’s visitors, Scunthorpe United, had already been confirmed as relegated. Just a few seasons ago the two teams were promotion rivals in the league above but both have suffered decline.

Having paused to take pictures of stickers and to visit the Oxfam book shop I almost missed the start of the game. I made it to my seat in time though and just as well as City took the lead after 18 seconds and scored a second on 5 minutes and could easily have scored a few more in a dominant first half. The conditions were very blustery and that seemed to contribute to a freak goal just before half time as the Bantams keeper was charged down and the ball rebounded into the net to give the Irons a goal out of nothing. A goalless second half disguises City’s superiority - 27 shots to 3 during the match - but it was still enough to see out their first home win since January. Also only the second time I’d seen them win in the 14 games of theirs I’ve attended this season. 

Today, I made sure my camera was firmly zipped in my pocket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.