Happy St George's Day And National Asparagus Day

I've been cooking and serving asparagus for over fifty years and more recently we've been growing it. How strange that I have only just learnt that St George's Day is the official start of the English asparagus season. Ours has been cropping for a while as it's under glass. The asparagus beetles have only just appeared, I searched hard and could only find two. They're not easy to photograph as they hide behind the spears when one approaches.

I photographed a tiny moth that I have never seen before. It's a male feathered diamond back associated with hawthorn. (Extras) I really like my image of a dark bush cricket nymph on a nettle. (Extras) Plenty of zebra spiders on the south-facing number thirteen brick wall. (Extras) 

    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.