Back Home

I drove up to Hull today to see my mother who's been taken into hospital with a bad cough and chest infection. I was pleased to see she was sitting up out of bed and, although still coughing badly, didn't seem quite as bad as I had expected, which was good news.

I'm staying over at the usual b&b we tend to use on our visits to Hull, Westfield House on Salisbury Street between the Avenues. It was a lovely evening when I arrived so I went for a walk around Pearson's Park and along Princes Avenue, big nostalgia trip for me as it is the area where I was brought up.

For tea I confirmed what I had always suspected, that Hull does the best fish and chips in the country!

The photo is of Belvoir Street, pronounced 'beaver', the street where I spent the formative years of my life. My old house is there, number 20, though its not painted red anymore. Of course, although the houses were the same, the street was quite different then. No cars or traffic calming, kids played on the street and we used to play cricket across the road with the wickets painted on the wall to the left of the picture. We learned to ride our bikes up and down the street and went round the corner to the cafe on Princes Avenue to drink coca-cola when we were older.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.