Living my dream

By Mima

Sure as eggs is eggs

I’ve kept hens for over a decade and every morning when I collect the latest clutch I thank the girls for their work.

I still get a huge kick from the magic of the hen and the egg.

For the last few weeks there have been no eggs because the old girls were culled, and they were replaced with six pullets. The girls’ wattles and combs have grown nicely and I’ve been eagerly checking the nest box each morning this last week.

Imagine my happiness when I found these two gems nestled in the bedding today. Hooray! We have egg production again!

The remaining four chooks will begin laying in the next few days. And before I know it there will be three dozen eggs a week and I’ll be raking around looking for egg barters.

Happy days. I have an extra spring in my step.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.