Living my dream

By Mima

Colour

The grapevine was raided by a possum just as the fruit ripened, so the only benefit it has provided this year is the fabulous autumnal colour of its leaves. It is the best in the garden here.

Bean returned to the vet today to have the fentanyl patch removed. She was a different dog in there today: alert, interested and wagging. What a difference in just three days.

There’s been some barking at Tilda today, as well as a quick play with her, and a return to her full appetite. It is a relief to see her getting back to something like normal.

I have begun the research into making sure everything she eats is low in fat. First I needed to know what ‘low fat’ actually means in terms of the percentage of any food. I have learned that 7% and less is considered low fat in terms of dog food. 

In order to work out if her raw meat is low in fat I will cook some samples and do a rough and ready measurement of how much fat comes out. If I’m in any doubt she won’t be getting that particular meat. I bought pieces of rabbit, venison and wallaby today to start the experiment tomorrow.

The support from Blippers is marvellous. This is an extraordinarily generous community, which I feel very fortunate to be a part of. Thank you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.