Living my dream

By Mima

Mount Dommett from Bortons

We were back at Bortons Pond again today. It was relatively busy: I saw 10 people! It is school holidays and half of them were kids with bikes and / or fishing rods. What a great place to spend holidays. Our walk took longer than usual because it is imperative to stop and chat with everybody.

Chez Mima I got the lawnmower out and cut up a big pile of corn stalks, tomato plants and other tidied-up greenery, and put it onto the compost, which I duly watered heavily.

While I was mixing and proving sourdough loaves I had an email from R, who is on a cruise with his wife K - and in whose garden I play every week. K had to be evacuated from the ship in South Africa with acute pancreatitis and has been in an induced coma for a week. She seems to be improving slightly, but is far from out of the woods. What awful news. It is hard enough dealing with that sort of thing at home, but dreadful when you're so far away. Some family have just flown over to support them, but even so. I feel a bit stunned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.