Kirst

Today was the very exciting start of a 4-day long weekend. Early doors I met up with my old work friend Erin for a tramp around the foothills of Table Mountain, in an area known as East Fort. This has the ruins of a very old coastal battery positioned to prevent invasion from the stormy Atlantic seas to the south and west. Erin and I had a good stomp around the fynbos and rocky slopes and saw a beautiful orange-breasted sunbird. We followed with coffee and cheesy crêpes in a café in Hout Bay, and she went on her merry way for a camping weekend.

My afternoon plan was to visit Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, the jewel in the crown of South Africa’s network of botanical gardens. I loved it last time I came at Christmas 2019.

Kirstenbosch clings to the side of Table Mountain and is a marvellous place to relax with the view and enjoy the different zones the garden has created. I liked the proteas and ericas sections in the upper reaches, and the labelling of centenarian trees for the garden’s anniversary. The sun was bright although Cape Town in its autumn period is the sort of place where you put your jacket on and off every five minutes. I’m being steadfast with flip flops; I shall not be deterred even in nippy winds.

After Kirstenbosch I headed towards the city centre, and wandered the colourful streets of the historical district of Bo-Kaap, with the sun setting over Signal Hill and Table Mountain up above.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.