Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Lesser Redpoll #50

Today the weather wasn't so good after 10am in the morning - cold and a little bit drizzly.  However, I'd decided to get up early whilst the sun was shining and was out of the apartment by 7am. I went back to Sizergh Castle, parked in the carpark and sat alone on the café veranda waiting for the hawfinch to appear. Luckily, after 25 minutes I spied 3 little birds on the far side of the carpark searching for seeds underneath the hornbeams. They stayed for about 6 minutes, but were really too far away for my Powershot to get any decent photographs. Sadly I'd left my big lens at home as we didn't have room in the car and I didn't think I'd get much opportunity to use it with my parents being with us. There is a poor record shot in extras, just so I have it in my journal. It's the only time I've ever got any sort of a shot of a hawfinch. 

On my way back to Merlewood, I dropped in at Foulshaw Moss again to see if I could get a better shot of a redpoll since yesterdays efforts were rubbish. This is the best I could do before I had to go for a zoom call with my NZ brother and parents. I suspect this is two adults rather than a chick being fed by a parent....but I could be wrong. 
Since it is only 12 minutes away, I'm sure I will be back at Foulshaw at some stage during the week. It's a lovely little place. 

This evening we had a delicious meal at The Pheasant Inn at Allithwaite, a few minutes further along the coast. Excellent food and service - I highly recommend it. 

Apologies for the lack of commenting. I'll catch up at some stage, but it might be when we get back home next weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.