Weird

We used coconut fat/oil to roast potatoes. I’m cooking, the oil solidified into biconcave discs, like white red blood cells. We’ve never seen that happen with other fats, and we don’t know why it happened. We warmed it up again and let it cool to see if it would do it again; it did.

(I’m guessing some of you have questions. Allow me to pre-empt some.
1) The coconut fat/oil was supposed to replace goose fat at Christmas, but I forgot to use it.
2) It hadn’t gone off.
3) I could taste the coconut in the resulting roast potatoes, but Mr Pandammonium could not.
4) The coconut taste wasn’t unpleasant, but I’d prefer it to be absent.
5) I usually use rice bran oil.)

Thank you for your kind words for me and Mr Perkins in my last few blips. We’re both back to our own normals now.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.