Cambridge taxi

You don’t get many Panther Cabs up my way, but here is one.

Pilates

Our usual Pilates instructor was back this week. One of her dogs died last week. During lockdown, she did online classes from her house. Her two dogs would usually join her on camera. That was the best but for me. I’m sad that two have become one.

She was remarkably chipper this week. I suppose you can’t grieve forever, although the sadness won’t ever fully fade.

’Heart Coal’

I’m reading a book at the moment that talks about having a ‘heart coal’. I think the pain of bereavement counts.

The book is a strange one. I picked it up because I’m always looking for something different to read after I got bored of crime thrillers being so samey: a crime happens, and the person who investigates has their own demons, which, depending on whether it’s a one-off or a series, is or is not linked to the crime.

I think that’s why I turned to science fiction and fantasy: the possibilities for variety are endless.

This book is The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.