Piano

Another warm although mostly overcast morning, and a very sunny afternoon. No school today, so I tried translating an article before my Skype language-exchange conversation.

Then it was more website stuff - trying different ideas for raising the income, but if it is successful, it will mean much more time working and less time for French-learning. I'll wait until we're back from Guernsey before I do anything more.

I spent a couple of hours setting up the all-singing-and-dancing emergency phone system, which is now up and running and seems to work just great! That was money very well spent anyway. I had prepared a long automated emergency message to record, in both languages. It would have taken at least a couple of minutes, but on reading the instructions, we only had 10 seconds! So we had a major revision, just the bare necessities, in only French - and just about got it in 10 seconds. Name, problem, address. C'est tout. Parfait.


The blip shows M and Alice hard at work, and having fun too. Until this month, I was doing all the piano stuff at home, but thankfully (for me and for Alice!) M has taken over, and the results are great! I think her teacher can`t understand it! M comes to life when he`s teaching - animated and smiling, his face just lights up. Lovely. Alice seems to enjoy it too. He makes it fun :-) He was always reluctant to teach Alice, but thankfully, he seems very comfortable and happy about it now. Yippee!

I`ve found another internet language-exchange friend, although just via email for now. I recently made a little poster that I was only thinking about putting in the local café, but I made the mistake of letting Nicolas see it. I suspect he`s been telling everyone about my wish for a local language-exchange friend. Nicolas says his mum knows of someone who wants me to teach her daughter English. That wasn`t the idea!

This afternoon, Alice went to an activity at l'ancien presbytère in the village - doing some fishing! Apparently, they were giving away real goldfish and I had my work cut out trying to convince Alice that we couldn`t have one!

Out for piano and clarinet lessons later this afternoon....whilst I did a load of ironing, washing and food preparation and we even managed to mow the lawn - gosh, I sound like a proper housewife!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.