NellyO

By NellyO

Wearing Red

Today is former PM Margaret Thatcher's funeral. I have not watched any of the coverage. I remember her coming to power (I was nearly 10) and so spent my formative years growing up and seeing what the world was like while she was PM. Although we lived in a staunchly Conservative constituency, my family was resolutely Labour-voting (always the triumph of hope over expectation, apart from briefly in the Labour landslide of 1997) so of course that will have influenced my own views as I grew up. My (slightly embarrassing but not in an embarrassing way, if you know what I mean) uncle John used to regularly have letters published in the local paper ranting about Maggie and her policies, and whilst my dad was a bit more measured he basically made the same points. I remember seeing the demise of local industry (steel in our case), from which the UK has never fully recovered, and the growing greed and self-serving politics and undermining of the public sector that Maggie's policies promoted and lauded, including the "no such thing as society" mantra. I know that lots of people have shared the recent article by Russell Brand about growing up in the Thatcher era; I'm not ashamed to share it again as he says so much about what it was actually like, and what that means today: I always felt sorry for her children.

Since the announcement of her death there have been (endless) debates, sadness, celebration even. I always thought I'd be glad when she died as I loathed her policies and legacy so much. But I have found myself most energised and inspired by the various efforts at proving her wrong, chief among them are the Don't hate, donate campaign, encouraging people to give to the groups most damaged by her policies. I can certainly get behind that.

The Wearing Red thing is just a peaceful way of protesting against a political legacy that promoted greed, individualism and an utter lack of regard for anyone other than ourselves. I realise this will mean the grand total of nothing at all as either a statement or as an action, but I do want to remember that it's not just about me, that I have responsibilities towards others, and a duty to try and make the world a better place. Nothing would make me happier than society proving Maggie wrong.

[By the way apologies for the lack of photos recently. Going back to work on Friday was a big mistake, I've been wiped out ever since!]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.