Garlic mustard

I suspect I'm uploading too late for my Tiny Tuesday photos to "count", but the sunny half hour I spent wandering round the garden with my macro lens was one of the day's high points and I've struggled to decide on my favourites. I've always thought of garlic mustard as a very plain wild flower, with its simple, white flowers, small relative to the size of the leaves, but looking down into the opening flower heads I decided it's really rather pretty; the extra shows the more usual upright view. I've also included a wild strawberry flower. These grow as weeds here and are currently overrunning large areas of the garden. They produce very tiny and tasty fruits, but unfortunately I can rarely spare the time it takes to gather them all.

The low point was the frustrating two and a half hours I spent trying to help J with a little animation project for her care centre. It's not a serious film, just a little fun clip, but the setup time is still significant, and yesterday we could not make the live view from the camera display on the screen or persuade the computer to capture an image, despite it knowing the camera was there and displaying all the settings. We've used this software a lot and we tried all the usual tricks multiple times, then worked through the setup and troubleshooting guides, all to no avail. Eventually, J cried. Then we opened a new scene and suddenly it worked; we reverted to the original scene, and it still worked. Another trick learned, but by then it was too late to get beyond a set of test shots before clearing away the lights and tripod and clearing the background, glass and cut outs from the table. We worked out how to light the scene to avoid the distracting, blurry shadows which initially muddied the outlines, but will have to set it up again to shoot the clip. I wished I had potted the tomatoes instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.