Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Escaping

It's been another long, grubby day in Blethers Towers. I woke from deep sleep as Himself's alarm went off, and realised that I'd not moved at all all night - my pal Di told me later that it's a genetic thing, whether you sleep still or restless. I had been so still that I was stiff, needing to roll over and lie on the other side for a bit, but not for long: the patio-builders were out back before I was downstairs, and the gas men not far behind them at the front.

I had work to do for Sunday's service (writing intercessions) and fully intended trying to do some of it after coffee, but ... First I was seized by the need to wash the white PVC window frames in our bedroom - not just the inside part, but the bit where the window fits in, which tends to fill up with the detritus of desiccated spiders and other delights. Besides, the sun was shining on me as I worked and it seemed a truly housewifely and spring-cleaningly thing to do.

However, after coffee I headed for the computer - and remembered the need to fill out a Passenger Locator Form for our holiday, which is just over a fortnight away. This required me to ascertain the street address of our hotel in Italy ... and the form itself is ambiguous ...I ended up having to do it twice. And then it was lunchtime.

That's why I took the chance to escape in the afternoon. My pal had been in town for a meeting and came round when that was over, so we headed up the Bishop's Glen, where the town's water supply used to come from. We talked the whole way, and met a man with two amusing dogs which were entirely unbothersome. That's where the photo comes from, looking south over the former reservoir, the water sparkling in the sun and the trees showing that wonderful froth of new green growth. 

When I got home the men had all gone; the patio is finished but verboten until tomorrow, and the gas fire installed and working. We spent a hectic couple of hours cleaning, removing dusty plastic sheeting, restoring pictures to walls. I even polished two brass candlesticks. And later, much later, we sat in front of our new fire on this chilly evening and fell asleep.

Next story will involve our suddenly realised need to start looking for a new car. But that's for another day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.