Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

It's Wednesday, So It Must Be a School Day!

Since I retired, and when Mr. HCB and I are not enjoying the delights of the seaside, I go into a local school to help. I wanted to "give something back" rather than get another job as many retired people seem to do, and I must admit I have loved every minute.

At first I was helping the children with their reading and writing, but the staff quickly learned that I was good at admin jobs, so I now sort out Story Sacks or work in the library. The children still come and talk to me, especially as I send them a postcard every time we go away, so they often come and chat about where I've been and often ask me why I always go on holiday - the answer, of course, is 'because I can!'

Today, however, I was issuing library books to the children so had much more contact with them, which I really enjoyed. When I was younger, I wanted to go to college and train to be a teacher, but sadly, for various reasons, my parents would not let me go, so this for me, is a real bonus.

It is a lovely school and I am impressed by the atmosphere in the school, the way the children are taught and by the work produced which is always of a very high standard. All the teachers are very friendly - particularly the ones in Reception, so I always feel welcome and they always thank me when I leave and say how much they appreciate what I have done.

I'm sure the children at this school will remember their teachers with great affection in years to come.

Teach your children right from wrong
and when they are grown
they will still do right.
Proverbs 22:6
Contemporary English Version


When I got home, I had to pop into my neighbour to collect our key as I didn't take one with me this morning, and they have one because they look after our house whilst we are away. I took some lovely photographs of their cat, Skoobi, but decided that a school collage said more about my life than their cat does, especially as it is not always in our good books because it catches birds in our garden and also digs up some of Mr HCB's plants.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.