Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Sports

A relatively diverse day for a mid-week work day, including a trip to the dentist early on and later on some football further up Airedale at Cononley.

I was planning on walking back from the dentist along the canal but found the towpath was closed at the end of Dock Lane for maintenance. I did at least get to see that Mute Swan nesting was underway. I diverted to the riverside path, and saw Goosander and Grey Wagtail as I was walking. At the nature reserve the day old goslings were on show.

Longer days mean that early evening fixtures are possible at the local district and county level football grounds which typically don’t have floodlights. I’d had my eye on the ground at Cononley for a while as I’ve been past many times on the train. Cononley Sports play in the Premier Division of the Craven & District League and tonight were hosting neighbours Silsden Whitestar in a league cup game.

I arrived a little early so popped down to the river where Curlew and Redshank were in evidence in the surrounding ings. 

The match started with Cononley on the front foot - they took an early lead but Silsden replied with two before the break. The second half was one way traffic though, and it finished as a comfortable 1-8 win for Whitestar.

I quickly made a new friend as I waited at the station for my train home (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.