Ten years and still counting

On the 1st of May 2012, with great trepidation, I entered the Blip World. A few months before I had acquired a ‘proper’ camera and a friend told me the best way of learning to use a camera is to take a photo a day. I had already started doing this before I somehow came upon Blipfoto. I had no idea what it was about, but posted the picture anyway. I was astonished when comments started to appear and then I found I could look at other journals and came upon some remarkable people.

So, ten years later, I am looking back in some kind of wonder, remembering people I have met, both virtually and in reality. I’m remembering the time I took Blipbear to New Zealand and had such delightful meetings. I’m remembering the time when we thought we had lost Blipfoto, then those wonderful people stepped up, we all bought shares and it was saved. I’m remembering so many virtual conversations with like-minded people and then actually meeting up with them. How could I ever forget those incredible few days in Seattle, or that day in Staithes. But in the end it is the day to day interactions with lovely people that make Blipfoto what it is and why I value it.

And I’m still here. Still posting one picture a day and on the day. I never did learn how to use a camera and know that I will never be a ‘real’ photographer, but I like to think I am a storyteller and can post blips that are a record for me and maybe of interest to others. I enjoy finding evidence of the past in our everyday life; being able to share my findings has been wonderful. 

So perhaps it is appropriate that I return today for my ten year blip to a place I love (although I do wish it was loved itself but that is a story I have told before and need not go into here). Long Meg - probably the most important stone circle in the north of England, second largest in the country. It never fails to impress, as Wordsworth put it: 

A weight of Awe not easy to be borne
Fell suddenly upon my spirit . . . 

Blip is a way of life. It is never a chore or a worry. It is just something I do and will continue to do. Thanks to Gordon who is often the chauffeur, sometimes the Blip focus and always tolerates my sometimes mad ideas. Thanks to everyone who makes this place such a haven of fascination, love, kindness and support in a troubled world. Onward in wonder . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.