Mum

An emotional day today - my Mum’s funeral.

The service went very well. I think Mum would have loved it. And does :-)

We saw lots of family, who we have not seen since 2019. And old neighbours I have not seen for fifty plus years. Everyone was very nice, and supportive.

What to do with the flowers. They are kept on site at the crematorium for three days and then disposed of. That seemed a shame. So we took this bouquet to St Nicholas’s churchyard. Mum and Dad were married here. We placed the flowers on the grave of Jane F, my great great aunt who died aged 49 in 1850. I always say Hello T’Jane when I visit as she lies near the entrance. And Mum and Dad’s grandson J, our nephew, who did not survive his first year, lies nearby.

The churchyard is fabulous to my eyes, as nature has taken it over. No mown grass here, but an annual succession of wildflowers. Today, cow parsley and jack by the hedge are everywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.