Off Grid

On my canal jaunt this morning I spotted this strange little boat. A rowing boat chassis with a box on top. A scrawl along the side proclaimed “livin on the margins”. The fellow paddling it seemed to have made a simple home with no luxurious add ons. There is a solar panel on the roof but no windows. See extra.

As he approached me he cheerfully raised a single digit and shouted something. I then followed him down to the lock where he had stopped alongside the bank. I was looking forward to a chat, a photograph and perhaps a guided tour around his tiny abode.

As he approached he shouted “f**k off mate and leave me alone”. So an authentic off gridder wanting to have nothing to do with the outside world. I applaud him and did, indeed, leave him alone. 

Not sure I would want to live like that myself though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.