No Entry

I went in to London today, chiefly to visit the Sony World Photography Awards at Somerset House.  It is three years since this event was last held live (the last two years have been on-line only) and it was great to get back to see such an excellent and interesting range of images, well presented at this splendid location.  I was also particularly interested in the display of photographs by Edward Burtynsky, who was recognised for his "oustanding contribution to photography".  If you don't know, he photographs the impact that man has on the natural landscape, with images of the damage caused by mining, of urban landscapes designed for the motor car, of large scale logging operations, etc.  His prints are large scale as well - typically 2 metres by 1.5 metres.  I have seen some of his photographs before, but this was a substantial selection from several of his projects.  Powerful pictures.

As usual, I also enjoyed wandering the streets, capturing scenes that I found interesting.  It makes such a change to have a choice of images to blip.  My main today was taken of a couple enjoying themselves by the fountains in Trafalgar Square, but I have also included an extra of another scene which I rather enjoyed. There are others I could have included.

It may be a few days before I get a choice of image again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.