Combi31

By Combi31

Yellow Swallowtail Butterfly

Gotta be seen LARGE to see the detail

Yellow Swallowtail - in French, Grand porte-queue and Latin, Papilio machaon and of course someone will say Papier Mâché ... I'll write the name of that person on the back of my hand and show it you later ;)

As you well know, the French word for butterfly is 'Papillon' - now wasn't that a great film ... and the word for 'Moth' is 'Papillon de nuit' - logique quoi ...

I will also try to blip a moth that is really beautiful - I saw loads yesterday, but none this evening - that is 'the humming-bird hawk moth' - pretty amazing little insects.

I was waiting by a tree in the garden with a pot of Turkish apple tea ... well you have to don't you - for a pair of nuthatches to come along and just to make myself inconspicuous I was lying on a sunlounger ... boy it's been hot today.

This sudden onset of warm weather, well hot today, does no good to the body and everyone I know is feeling really tired - mind you, I did ask the question at the weekly meeting of 'The very tired people club'. Nah, I didn't, but I had you going for a moment, didn't I?

Anyway, back to the 'bird watching' thing ... then I saw this butterfly on our Greengage tree - that's Reine Claude to you French people ... and I was pretty much amazed, so much so that I have blipped it.

The nuthatches can wait for another day - there was also a green woodpecker on the grass, but it was just behind Hon. Son N°1's bike so I didn't bother to blip it - there is also a cuckoo very near, I hope to get a shot of this too.

I hope you've had a good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.