Combi31

By Combi31

You're not thinking of taking my picture are you?

Black Kite - Milvus Migrans, in French Milan Noire.

See it bigger HERE

Now you may be looking at this and saying - That's a red kite that is!

Well, they are very similar, it's not because they are all black, that they are called, black kites. In fact one of the differences, which you cannot see in this photo, is that the underside of the red kite is light and sometimes almost white, whereas the black kite's are, well, black.

There were lots of birds around this evening, a greater spotted woodpecker landed on a tree just above my head and started tap-tapping way for insects - I took a photo, but didn't dare blip it again ...

As I was coming back to the car, I saw some logs that I swear weren't there when I arrived, about 300 meters away - and the logs were moving .... nah, you're not getting me with that one again ... remember the young wild boar drinking???

Anyway, they were moving these logs, but I fought not to believe this as that would mean I'd really flipped my lid.

As I got closer, about 200 meters away, one of the logs sniffed the air and they all ran off into the bushes - yeah, running logs .... NURSE!!!

In fact it was a family of two females and 4 young ones - if I hadn't been hoodwinked by the clod of mud the other evening, I may have got a decent pic .. but, alas, the pics are all blurry and look like I'd taken a picture of some logs .... next time.

It was at this moment that I realised that I may be taking a bit of a risk in the forest, which is very thick and dense, with not a soul in sight for at least 7 kilometers.
I don't think the male boars are too much to worry about, unless surprised or cornered, but a female with young is an entirely different kettle of fish...

I also saw the purple heron again tonight - which is good, as I have seen it for the last 3 days, so it looks like it has decided to stick around. I also saw the nesting buzzard as I added some more branches to the hide.

Hope your day was good :)

Thank you so much for all the love for the butterfly yesterday that sent it flying into the spotlight - you're brilliant!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.