A Walk in a New Park

With the no-see-ums, gnats, midges or whatever they may be called making a visit to the lakeshore uncomfortable these days, I needed to find another place to walk this morning. 

There is a park with paved paths along a creek in the heart of town that looked promising and worth a try. I have lived in this town for 50 years and have never explored it! Imagine that! That is what blipping leads to - new adventures. It is amazing what places you discover in search of blips...

The park has a manicured area with paved paths and lawns,  but also a wilder side with dirt trails along the creek's edge (extras). The main attraction for me today was the vast display of scilla...our version of those famous bluebells of the UK.. spread out like carpets of blue along the creek's edge and in the wooded areas...So beautiful but so difficult for me to photograph in that bright morning sun with an iPhone! 

I met a lovely local lady-with-dog who says that in the last year, she has missed only ten days of walking in this park and encouraged me to keep coming..that I would love walking there too. The only criteria is that I have to be comfortable with dogs...there are lots of dogs, but not to fear, the dogs are well trained....I had already met three and was on a first-name basis with one of them - a golden retriever, so dogs would not be a deterrent! She showed me her favourite place to photograph the scilla and then listed the spring schedule of bloom to entice me, and as the next display will be trilliums, I will definitely return! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.