Ft. McNair

We lived in a downstairs apartment in this building when I was a kid. My dad was in the army and was stationed at Ft. McNair in SW DC. We only lived there for about a year or so, but my mom and dad loved the post and used the facilities daily. They were both avid golfers and swimmers and shopped at the commisary and PX there. We bowled, played tennis and golf, and used the craft shop and library there. My sisters and I swam on their swim team for years, and our best friends lived on-post. We watched the lunar landing from the golf shack, we watched Jack Ruby gun down Lee Harvey Oswald on the TV in the OClub tavern. We had our wedding receptions there, and so did our kids! 
It is so weird that I am generally off-limits to my childhood stomping grounds because I am not military or a military dependent. 
Today I was able to visit because I needed to inspect a job that I measured for one of my husband's projects. It was an incredible experience to drive around the post. So much has changed. The pool is gone. So is the golf course, and the tennis courts have construction going on. 
Our old apartment is still standing, as are many of the historic buildings there. I wonder if they still play taps at 5pm. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.