simisue

By simisue

PLANT MARRIAGE

Here are 2 plants that have grown together
in a harmonious “plant marriage,” at the corner of my driveway.

There is yellow & pink LANTANA in the
rear, & a variegated SPURGE
(EUPHORBIA characias wulfenii) that is
actually blooming, in front.

There is also SILVER LUPINE BUSH, a native, which is very small, but will
be 5ft. tall & wide. It will have large lupine flowers, hopefully next spring. Eventually they will grow into an unexpected
combination.

I got the idea from a house Angus & I often walked by. These 3 plants were growing
happily, although completely neglected, at the edge of a driveway. Last Winter, when my front garden was in the early planning stages, we passed the house; & someone had hacked them all down, then left them to die. I was so upset at this crime against nature.

Instead of raising a fuss, I decided to recreate the trio of plants. My landscaper resisted, but I insisted, & hopefully they will thrive.

Time will tell. The test will come when our blazing hot/sunny Summer arrives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.