REAL ID

Today I went to apply for a REAL ID,
a driver’s license with enhanced security features, which will be required for air travel & many other activities.

What should have been a very simple bureaucratic process has been a bit of a debacle thanks to COVID. The California Department of Motor Vehicles can be incredibly difficult to deal with. My friend & I decided to go together, then go out to breakfast, lunch or dinner depending how long it took. The lines can snake down the street.

Amazingly enough it only took about an hour. The clerks must have gone to charm school because they were all very courteous. In years past the inefficiency & rudeness was beyond the pale at the DMV.

To celebrate, we split a veggie omelet &
I was home in time to run errands.

My REAL ID should arrive in a few weeks.
I hope my photo reflects how happy I was to survive the process.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.