Living my dream

By Mima

Autumn

On our walk yesterday and today I expected to take blipworthy shots of wonderful autumn colours, but the best photo in the end was taken right here Chez Mima, of the grapevine on the guest cabin.

I do include an extra of the trees at Paradise Gully Road, but the light was wrong and I couldn’t capture what I wanted. I probably need to be there in the early morning…

We are forecast to get some high wind later on tomorrow, so I expect we’ll lose most of the leaves. That will give us plenty to kick as we walk, which is always a pleasure!

My precious dog Sana died over a year ago and I’ve had her ashes in the dining room for a year. My intention has always been to spread them under the blackcurrant and raspberry plants because she spent some of her happiest times vacuuming up fruit.

In fact she was famous for lying right next to me when I picked blackcurrants, waiting for fruit to fall into her mouth…which of course it did ‘accidentally’.

And before I knew to net the raspberries she would suck ripe fruit off the canes, creating a barren zone below her head-height, which took me days to work out. The giveaway was a sheepish dog appearing from the fruit area, with squashed raspberries around her lips.

So now she will help ensure that future crops are luscious. Jeaniebean pottered around in the fruit cage as I scattered the ashes, showing some interest but mostly just being a dog, snuffling about and coming over for a pat every now and then.

I quietly and thankfully remembered my beautiful Sana-banana and reflected on how much of her spirit is within the beautiful Beanbag. I am truly fortunate with my dogs.

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.