Living my dream

By Mima

Marathon complete

The apple and pear-dehydrating marathon ended today. These six jars are two thirds of the total. (The remaining three jars are less photogenic pottery ones.) It was a total of about 290 fruit, in 22 batches.

There are plenty of spare fruit which didn't make it into the drier. These are gradually being cleaned of bird-shit, and after drying out in the sun they will go into the cool store to provide me fresh fruit well into winter.

The first batch of pumpkin soup is made in a real sign of the turning seasons. It is one of my cool-weather comfort foods. Delicious stuff.

Bean and I are about to venture forth on our daily walk. 

The sun continues to shine and the turning leaves are stunning this year. We've had barely any wind so they are giving us a wonderful display. I might take my camera and snap a few shots... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.